Split (2017)

Dear Universal Studios,

How’s your week going? I hope it’s been going well. I wanted to fire you a quick message about my new film treatment and screenplay  that I thought you would be interested.

Using my fifteen years plus  experience in the industry, I’m the Hollywood Houdini director that can wow and capture an audience in the last ten minutes of the film.  You remember The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable don’t you? That’s me. M. Night Shyamalan.

2017 is gonna draw to close and 2018 is just around the corner.There’s so many superhero films coming out, who needs another Avengers, Thor, Wonder-woman, Batman, or Justice League.  What we need is a Horror- Psychological Thriller to spice things up.

I’m asking for some cash to work, the production company Blumhouse give some good money out. Maybe $9 million should cut it.  I’m thinking James McAvoy in the lead as Kevin who suffers dissociate personality disorder. He holds three women hostage and the film tracks the three women trying to outsmart him.

splitscreenshot1
Anya Taylor-Joy and James McAvoy in Split

We can find three strong female leads, one can be Anya Taylor – Joy. She can play Casey Cooke. She has the appeal and believability  of a young character to not only sympathise with a few of the twenty three personalities but shows the confidence to manipulate the situation to her advantage.

As a director, I’ll play on the audience’s fears, I’ll do what I do best -show but not tell and let the crowd enjoy the flick for its total 2 hours.

A $9 million budget, you just wait and look at the box office receipts. I can guarantee you they’ll be a sequel in a couple of years and my loyals will choose to link all of my films in its own universe.

The target demographic will be not only the young millennials who’ll want a Sunday horror but those that need to think during a film. Whatever happened to films that do that these days?

Get back to me this week. This needs to be looked at pronto.

Regards

M. Night Shyamalan

CAST:

James McAvoy as Dennis

Anya Taylor- Joy as Casey Cooke

Betty Buckley as Dr. Karen Fletcher

Hayley Lu Richardson as Claire Benoit

RATING: 3/5

Leave a Reply

